The Institute For Regional Security (IFRS), formerly the Kokoda Foundation, was registered as a public company limited by guarantee under the Corporations Act of 2001 of the Australian Capital Territory on 14 September 2004. The Institute's Australian Company Number is 110 456 856.  The Institute's Australian Business Number (ABN) is 48 110 456 856.

The  Institute is governed by a Board of Directors under the terms of the IFRS Constitution.

The central operating principles of the Institute are to:

  • Operate as a not-for-profit company committed to the achievement of its core goals.
  • Conduct its operations independently and with no political affiliations.
  • Focus on generating independent, innovative approaches to promoting regional stability and prosperity.
  • Offer management transparency to the Institute's membership.

(uploaded 6 November 2015)

2015 Annual General Meeting

2015 AGM Agenda
2015 AGM Proxy Absentee Voting Form

The following documents are available in the Members Zone and can be accessed by logging in. If you have any trouble logging in please email us

The primary items of business anticipated at the AGM are:
  • Consideration of minutes of the last AGM held on 25 November 2014
  • Consideration of the Auditor’s Report for FY 14/15 - available shortly
  • Consideration of the Directors’ Report for FY 14/15 - available shortly
  • Chairman’s presentation on the Institute’s activities - presented at the AGM
  • Election of Directors
  • Any other business

Election of Directors

Under the Constitution, the IFRS is required to advise members of Board nominations for election prior to the AGM. Board members are required to step down after two years on the Board and can re-nominate. Currently, IFRS has 10 Board members. Three Board members are remaining on the Board, two Board members are stepping down, and five Board members are stepping down after two years and re-nominating. The Secretary has received five new nominations. Ten nominations have been received in total for seven positions.

Current Directors re-nominating

  • Mr Jim Bancroft
  • Mr Brett Biddington AM
  • Mr Drew McKinnie
  • AVM (Retd) Al Titheridge AO
  • Mr Patrick Winter

New nominations

  • On file
Event details
When: Tuesday 8 December 2015 at 6.00 - 7.30 pm
Where: Spender Theatre, Australian Defence College
RSVP: by COB Tuesday 8 December 2015
Please RSVP online, or contact the office on T: 6295 1555 or E:
At the completion of the AGM, at around 7.00 pm, tea, coffee and biscuits will be served.