Competitions - Previous Winners

2015 Future Strategic Writers Competition

 Prize: AUD $2,500

Security Challenges' annual Future Strategic Writer Competition, sponsored by the Australian Defence Business Review, has closed for submissions to the 2015 round.

A generous prize of $2500 AUD will be awarded to the best article, essay or comment submitted by an author under 35 years of age. This will be announced at the IFRS Annual Dinner.

All contributions to this competition, which can be made as full articles or comments, must conform with the standard Security Challenges author guidelines. Contributions can be made by email to throughout the year.

Details of the 2016 Competition will be announced shortly.

The competition is open to all young scholars or professionals under 35 years of age (as of the closing date).  If a submission is co-authored, all authors must be under 35 years of age.  Authors must explicitly state their age and intent to enter the competition when submitting an article or comment.

All submissions will be reviewed by an expert panel whose decision is final. Members of the IFRS are eligible to participate, unless they are members of the Board of the Institute or of the editorial team of Security Challenges.

Previous Winners

2014: Shandon Harris-Hogan 

Understanding the Logic: An Analysis of Jihadist Targeting and Tactics in Western Countries from 2000 to mid-2012

This article appears in the IFRS Security Challenges Journal v.11 n.1

2013: David Schaefer 

The Information Revolution and Foreign Intelligence Assessment: New Challenges for Australia?  

2012: Will Clegg 

Don’t Get Smart with Me! Sustaining the ADF in the Age of the Strategic Reform Program  

2011 Winner: Wislon Chun Hei Chau

Explaining China’s Participation in Bilateral and Multilateral Military Exercises  

2010 Winners

1st Prize: Anna Samson 

The Grand Weiqi Board: Reconsidering China’s Role in Africa  

2nd Prize: Matthew Hill

Chessboard or ‘Political Bazaar’? Revisiting Beijing, Canberra and Wellington’s Engagement with the South Pacific

3rd Prize: Sheryn Lee

The Defining Divide: Cross-Strait Relations and US, Taiwan, China Strategic Dynamics

 2009 Winners

1st Prize: Will Clegg 

Irregular Forces in Counterinsurgency Warfare  

2nd Prize: Mayang Rahawestri

Obama’s Foreign Policy in Asia: More Continuity than Change

3rd Prize: Matthew Hill

A Velvet Glove? Coercion, and the Australasian Response to the 2006 Fijian Coup

2008 Winners

1st Prize

Richard Maher 

Obama versus McCain: Implications for the United States-Australia Alliance  

2nd Prize

Roy McDowall

The Strategic Depiction of China in Howard Government Policy

3rd Prize

Yusuke Ishihara

Partnership Adrift: Reshaping Australia-Japan Strategic Relations

 2007 Winners

1st Prize

Benjamin Habib 

Another Perfect Storm?  Predictors of Radical Change in North Korea  

2nd Prize

Raoul E. Heinrichs

Australia’s Nuclear Dilemma: Dependence, Deterrence or Denial?  

3rd Prize

Alison Hickman 

Assisting Strategic Analysis in an Uncertain World  

Honourable Mentions

Andrew Forrest

How to Be a Good Friend: China and the Australia-Japan Security Relationship  

Patrick Chisan Hew 

National Effects-Based Operations: The Example of Fleet Air Defence  

2006 Winners

1st Prize

Cherie Canning 

Pursuit of the Pariah: Iran, Sudan and Myanmar in China’s Energy Security Strategy  

2nd Prize

Simon Moffat

Globalisation, Terrorism and Cosmopolitan Australia

3rd Prize

James D. Stratford 

Strategic Culture and the North Korean Nuclear Crisis: Conceptual Challenges and Policy Opportunities  

Honourable Mentions

James Manicom

Near-term Instability in the Taiwan Strait? Nationalist Constituencies in the PRC and Cross-Strait Stability  

Joanne Wallis

A 'helpem fren' in need... Evaluating the Regional Assistance Mission to the Solomon Islands  

Benjamin Zala

Asia-Pacific: The New Nuclear Fault Line?

Robert Chaloner Prize

Prize: AUD $1,000

The Rob Chaloner Prize is awarded annually in recognition of outstanding young strategic leadership. The Prize consists of $1,000 to allow the winner to undertake further personal development of their choosing.

Rob Chaloner was an energetic supporter of the Institute for Regional Security from its very beginnings. He was particularly enthusiastic to see young strategic thinkers encouraged to strengthen their strategic analytical skills, understanding and expertise as well as their practical work, leadership and management capacities. In memory of her husband, Frances Chaloner donated a sum of money to the Foundation in order to fund an annual prize in memory of her late husband.

2015 Robert Chaloner Prize

The nomination form for the 2015 Robert Chaloner Prize can be downloaded here. For more information please also see the selection process.

Nominations will be judged by a sub-committee of the Institute's Board on the following criteria:

  • Has demonstrated strong leadership and management skills.
  • Has developed greatly improved strategic analytical skills.
  • Has demonstrated initiative in launching and/or leading events that benefit other young strategic thinkers.
  • Has worked harmoniously with others and demonstrated characteristics of a strong team player.
  • Has demonstrated capacities to research and write quality strategic analysis.
  • Has either worked within or aspires to work within, the Australian national security community, broadly defined. The Australian national security community is defined here to include all Commonwealth and State Government departments and agencies, the Australian Defence Force, police forces, relevant parts of defence industry and also relevant academic and independent research institutions.
  • Is aged 35 years or below at 1 January of the year of the award.

The recommendation of the selection committee will be presented to the Institute's Board for endorsement.

The decision of the selection committee and the Institute's Board is final and binding, and no correspondence will be entered into regarding the decision or any part of the selection process.

Previous Winner

2014: Kevin Davies